Never Let Me Go, my dear…

Not long ago, I watched this movie:

…which is based on this book:

 

…which I have not yet got around to reading, but greatly anticipate doing so. A quick plug: In a dystopian version of our twentieth century, science has prolonged the human lifespan to over 100 years through the breeding of clones and harvesting of their organs. We meet three children—Kathy, Ruth and Tommy—at a 1970s English boarding school, where young organ donors are reared until they are old enough to undergo their donations. The story focuses less on the science/ morality of the situation and more on the effect their fate has on their relationships. The three of them struggle with love, jealousy and fear over the course of their short lifespans. Ultimately it’s a story about choices, about fear of being alone, love, desperation and death.

 

The movie stars Carey Mulligan (An Education) as Kathy, Keira Knightley (Atonement) as Ruth and Andrew Garfield (The Social Network) as Tommy. It’s a captivating, quietly vibrant tale that will leave you with a haunting feeling (unless you are a callous being, a robot or a Stormtrooper). The acting was near impeccable: Tommy is fragile and earnest; Kathy is observant and resilient; Ruth is unrestrained and slightly sinister. They are all quite believeable. Also, it made me cry, and then made me watch it again. My main complaint is how the characters accept their fate without question. But I suppose it’s not a movie about fighting against the system—it’s more about what to do with the short time we have on this earth, and how best to pass it. Rating: 7/10

In other news, I’m making slow progress through the Art of War in between staring at pages of renal failure/bone disease/thyrotoxicosis notes. If only I knew more about Sun-Tzu, Cao Cao and Chinese history in general. I have zero knowledge about my own culture, but would be ecstatic if someone could build me a time machine and transport me back to the Battle of Red Cliff…or just give me an extended history lesson (in simple English, with pictures and diagrams…in stick figures…with speech bubbles…animated!). Or is there a Chinese history comic book for the time- and energy-pressed medical student? ;D

The great thing about the Easter break, apart from joyously pressing my nose into textbooks, and going down to the BEACH on Monday (did I say BEACH? YES I DID!) is the fact that I can paint my nails! (We’re not allowed at hospital…I think bits of flicked-off nail polish can carry bacteria into an unsuspecting patient’s open wounds, which would not lead to happy endings and confetti.)

If despite my awesome photography skills you still can’t read the name on the bottle, it’ss ulta3 nail colour in Pacific Fever. I know summer’s long over, but I’m loving the tropical green :)

I’m starting to make typos that look naughty and inappropriate, so I’d better finish up. More next time! Happy Easter to all.

One comment

Leave a Reply

