Pet Peeves and People Problems

Here, for you to delight in, are five of my pet peeves, and, to balance it out, five little things that brighten my day.


The Peeves

1. Mushrooms

Let me explain. I love eating mushrooms: mushroom soup, penne con funghi, mushroom in claypot stew…but when they’re alive? And in the ground? Ohmygosh, they freak me out. Look at them, so orange and curly and weird. I shudder at you, ugly fungal growths. Shudder.

2. People who Capitalise Things that are Not supposed to Be In Capitals

In order to Illustrate just how Annoying this is, I am going to Randomly turn Regular Words into Pronouns. Come on, People! Capitalisation is Not a form of placing Emphasis! It is grammatically incorrect and Drives Some Poor People Crazy.

3. Sidewalk hoggers

I have no problems with you, other than you walk too slow and sometimes you line up with your friends/partner/children and form a human wall. Sometimes you even zig zag at a leisurely pace so it’s very difficult to circumvent you. Grr.

4. Being poked

Poke. “Hi Grace!”

Do not do the above.

5. People peering over my shoulder

Not because I occupy myself with anything of the dodgy nature. But please ask, cough, or make your presence known. Don’t pretend you’re not looking. I know you are. I have eyes everywhere.

*

Now you’ve all seen how petty and ridiculous my pet peeves are ;D And I know they are, but we all have them. Last week, I was chatting to a few people I’ve never really had to chance to speak to before. Coming away from that conversation, I realised that a lot of the time, the disagreements, chafes and animosity between people arise from nothing more than pet peeves. We see something in a person that instantly makes a blip on our Annoyance Radar. We make a snap judgement, and then everything else that person does is tainted by our preformed conceptions.

This happens, I think, even more in group situations. A collective opinion somehow becomes more of a truth. But the lesson I’ve learnt is that you should always venture out and make your own judgements. Talk to people properly before you like or dislike them. And never draw a final verdict…because more often than not, you’ll look back and realise you were wrong.

*

The little happinesses:

1. Waking up and realising you can sleep in as long as you like

2. When you come out of the toilet at a restaurant to see that your food has arrived (I stole this one from Pulp Fiction!)

3. Compliments from strangers

4. That gentle ache in your muscles from a good exercise

5. Parcels on the doorstep

*

My final exam is tomorrow! I am so nervous. Wish me luck, amigos. See you on the other side! I can’t wait for the sweet, sweet taste of freedom…for four weeks at least :)

Love,

Grace

One comment

  1. *poke* Hi Grace :P. Sorry, I couldn’t resist hehe

    Despite being a bit of a grammar nazi, I have the tendency to make my own errors (e.g. just leaving out words because my fingers go faster than my brain at times) though Capitalisation is Not one that I’ve had Personal Issues with…. whoa, that does look weird! I sometimes get annoyed WHEN PEOPLE FORGET TO TURN OFF THEIR CAPS LOCK!

    Love all the little happiness points :).

    All the best for your last exam and enjoy the well-deserved break afterwards!

    xo

    Like

Leave a Reply

