On Rereading Books & To Kill a Mockingbird

The last time I read this classic was in Year Nine, back in the good ol’ days of Presbyterian Ladies’ College. I didn’t like it very much. Maybe it was because we had to study it. More likely, I suspect, my brain was not very well developed for my age and I lacked the higher executive functions to appreciate Harper Lee’s work.

One thing I have discovered is that it is almost always worth revisiting a book. Something you found an utter bore may, years later, resonate with you. It just goes to prove that the story you read from a book is not the story the author laid out with her pen…it is an internal story, created by you in your mind, from the author’s words. What one derives from a story depends as much on the expansiveness of the reader’s internal world as it does on the writer’s.

The Great Gatsby, for instance, only became one of my favourite books on second reading. The first time through I couldn’t understand what all the fuss was about.

I had a quiet Labour Day Holiday this year and did something I’ve been meaning to do for a long time–I picked up Mockingbird. And read it. And I couldn’t put it down. I really enjoyed it.

I was glad I reread it.

This post relates to two of my 101 goals:

13. Reread To Kill a Mockingbird. (12/3/2012)

5. Read and review at least one book per month (10/32).

Leave a Reply

